Diagnostics

Varicocele

What is varicocele

Varicocele is characterized by the dilation of a vein (varicose) in the spermatic cord, a fibrous cord located in the scrotum above each testicle.

The varicocele occurs mainly on the left side. Venous return of the left testicle is drained to the renal vein, while the venous return of the right testicle is drained to the vena cava. The pressure of the vena cava is lower than in the renal vein.

It is quite common and benign. However, a varicocele can affect men of any age (15%). Its incidence is even higher among men with fertility problems, it could have an impact on fertility.

What are the causes of a varicocele?
The pathophysiology of varicocele is not clearly understood. It seems that there is a malfunction of the unidirectional valves that allow the venous return of the testicles to the heart. Venous blood back flows , accumulates and creates a dilation of the veins in the spermatic cord.
What is the evolution and possible complications of a varicocele?
- In the vast majority of men, a varicocele has no effect on erectile function and sexuality and does not cause any discomfort or problem.

- When it is large, it can cause a feeling of heaviness or pain that may increase over time.

- It can also affect the development and function of the testis with testicular atrophy and, presumably, fertility problems. Thus, 35% of men with primary infertility have varicocele, 80% with secondary infertility, compared with only 15% in the general population.

- It seems that varicose veins could cause, by blood sastagnation, a warming of the testicle which is harmful to spermatogenesis. The wrong venous return could also lead to stagnation of toxic substances, such as tobacco, in the bloodstream, with an impact on spermatogenesis. The reflux of adrenal and renal metabolites could also affect sperm production.

- Note, however, that a man with a varicocele may also have no fertility problem.
What are the symptoms of a varicocele?
Most often, varicocele is asymptomatic and causes no discomfort. It is Increased with standing or physical exertion, especially over long periods. It can worsen over the course of a day, It usually relieved when lying on your back.

It often remains unrecognized. It is often discovered by chance or during a fertility test.

Sometimes the varicocele is manifested by an increase in the volume of the testicle, a feeling of heaviness in the left scrotum, sometimes even pains accentuated during prolonged standing, during physical exertion or in hot weather.
How to make the diagnosis of a varicocele?
The diagnosis is clinical: by palpation and visual examination, or a varicose dilatation above the testicles. In case of doubt, a scrotal ultrasound is performed to confirm the presence of varicocele and rule out any other. The images will reveal unusually large veins and blood stagnation.
What is the treatment of a varicocele?
- No treatment is needed for most men who have a mild symptomatic varicocele.

- In cases of fertility disorders, a consensus exists, in case of clear varicocele associated with abnormalities of spermogram, the treatment of varicocele is recommended.

- There is an embolization treatment of spermatic veins. It is carried out only in certain specialized centres by an interventionist radiologist. Under local anaesthesia and under ultrasound control, a small catheter is introduced into the femoral artery to the dilated spermatic veins. Small metal springs are introduced.

- There is also varicocele cure under microscopy to directly ligate the spermatic veins. This surgical treatment is generally very effective.

Request an Appointment

Dr. Marois is a urologist who is not a member of the Régie d’Assurance Maladie du Québec (RAMQ). As such, the clinic can not claim the RAMQ for the payment of his services. If you consult Dr Marois, you must pay for the services rendered.

Cancellation of appointment:

To ensure the smooth running of the clinic and a minimum of courtesy towards other patients and our staff, we ask you to notify us 48 hours in advance for the cancellation of a consultation, 5 working days in advance for a surgery at the office and 21 working days in advance for a major surgery. If these deadlines are not respected, a cancellation fee of 50% of the service will be charged.

Change of appointment:

We understand that events occur, so we ask you to provide us with at least a 24-hour notice for any change in their appointment; we will be happy to accommodate you, the best we can. However, if you fail to inform us within this timeframe or do not show up, we will charge a $ 100 fee.

Thank you for your understanding.

Attach a file

Hôpital privé avec bloc opératoire
Diagnostics

Varicocèle

La varicocèle

La varicocèle se caractérise par la dilatation d’une veine (varice) au niveau du cordon spermatique, cordon fibreux situé dans le scrotum au-dessus de chaque testicule.

La varicocèle se présente principalement au coté gauche. Le retour veineux du testicule gauche est drainé vers la veine rénale, tandis que le retour veineux du testicule droit est drainé vers la veine cave. La pression de la veine cave est plus faible que dans la veine rénale.

Elle est assez fréquente et elle est est bénigne. Cependant, la varicocèle peut toucher les hommes de tout âge (15% ). Son incidence est encore plus élevée chez les hommes ayant des problèmes de fertilité, elle pourrait avoir un impact sur la fécondité.

Quelles sont les causes d’une varicocèle ?
La physiopathologie de la varicocèle n’est pas clairement élucidée. Il semble qu’il y a un mauvais fonctionnement des valvules unidirectionnelles qui permettent le retour veineux des testicules vers le cœur. Le sang veineux reflue, s'accumule et occasionne une dilatation des veines situées dans le cordon spermatique.
Quelles sont l’évolution et les complications possibles d’une varicocèle ?
Chez la grande majorité des hommes, une varicocèle n’a aucune conséquence sur la fonction érectile et sur la sexualité, et elle n'entraine aucun inconfort ou problème. Lorsqu’elle est de volume important, elle peut toutefois occasionner une sensation de pesanteur, voire des douleurs qui risquent de s’accentuer au fil du temps.

À long terme, elle peut avoir des conséquences sur le développement et le fonctionnement du testicule avec une atrophie testiculaire et, vraisemblablement, des problèmes de fertilité. Ainsi, 35 % des hommes touchés par une infertilité primaire présentent une varicocèle, 80% lorsqu’il s’agit d’une infertilité secondaire, contre seulement 15 % dans la population générale.

Il semble que les varices pourraient provoquer, par sastagnation sanguine, un réchauffement du testicule néfaste à la spermatogenèse. Le mauvais retour veineux pourrait également entrainer une stagnation des substances toxiques, comme celles du tabac, dans la circulation sanguine, avec un impact sur la spermatogenèse. Le reflux de métabolites surrénaux et rénaux pourrait également nuire à la production de spermatozoïdes.

A noter cependant qu’un homme avec une varicocèle peut aussi n’avoir aucun problème de fertilité.
Quels sont les symptômes d’une varicocèle ?
Le plus souvent, la varicocèle est asymptomatique et n’entraine aucun inconfort. Elle reste souvent non reconnue. Elle est souvent découverte fortuitement ou lors d’un bilan de fertilité.

Parfois la varicocèle se manifeste par une augmentation du volume du testicule, une sensation de pesanteur au niveau du scrotum gauche, parfois même des douleurs accentuées à la station debout prolongée, lors d’un effort physique ou par temps chaud.
Comment faire le diagnostic d’une varicocèle ?
Le diagnostic est clinique : par la palpation et examen visuel, soit une dilatations variqueuses au-dessus des testicules. En cas de doute, une échographie scrotale est réalisée afin de confirmer la présence de la varicocèle et d'écarter tout doute. Les images feront apparaitre des veines anormalement grosses et une stagnation sanguine.
Quel est le traitement d’une varicocèle ?
Aucun traitement est nécessaire chez la plupart des hommes qui ont une varicocèle peu symptomatique.

En cas de troubles de la fertilité, un consensus existe, en cas de varicocèle nette associée à des anomalies du spermogramme, le traitement de la varicocèle est conseillé.

Il existe un traitement par embolisation des veines spermatiques. Elle se réalise seulement dans certains centres spécialisés par un radiologiste interventionniste. Sous anesthésie locale et sous contrôle échographique, un petit cathéter est introduit dans l’artère fémorale jusqu’aux veines spermatiques dilatées. Des petits ressorts métalliques sont introduits.

Il existe également la cure de varicocèle sous microscopie afin de ligaturer directement les veines spermatiques. Ce traitement chirurgical est généralement très efficace.

Traitement offert aux Cliniques Marois

Examens rapides aux Cliniques Marois

Demande de rendez-vous

Dr Marois est un urologue non participant au régime d'assurance maladie. À ce titre, il ne peut pas réclamer le paiement de la RAMQ pour ses honoraires. Si vous avez recours à ses services professionnels, vous devez donc payer directement le coût des services rendus.

Politique d'annulation et de changement de rendez-vous

Pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de la clinique et garantir un minimum de courtoisie vis-à-vis les autres patients et le personnel, nous vous demandons de nous aviser 48 heures à l'avance pour les changements de rendez-vous, 5 jours ouvrables pour les changements de chirurgies mineures au bureau et 21 jours ouvrables pour les changements de chirurgies majeurs. Si ces délais ne sont pas respectés, des frais d'annulation de 50% du service vous seront facturés.

Merci de votre compréhension

Joindre un fichier